Heritage > Counties > Scotland

Borders, Scotland

Borders The Borders region of Scotland was formed from the old counties of Berwickshire, Peebleshire, Selkirkshire and Roxburghshire following the re-drawing of county boundaries in 1974-5.

The region covers an area of some 1,815 square miles and includes some of the fairest views anywhere in the world.

The main towns in the region are Galashiels, Peebles, Kelso, Selkirk, Hawick and Jedburgh. The River Tweed, famous worldwide, runs through the region and is complemented very well by the naturally beautiful Border Hills. The administrative centre is situated in the village of Newtown St. Boswells.

The famous writer Sir Walter Scott had his home at Abbotsford. He along with Field Marshal Haig is buried at Dryburgh Abbey.

The region produces world famous knitted goods and tweed; electronics and timber and has a population of just over 100,000.

What colour are you?

All designs © Knight International Bulgarian Property Specialist 2001 - 2007