Heritage > Counties > Ireland

Mayo, Ireland

Mayo is to be found in the province of Connacht and occupies an area of 2,084 square miles with a population of 120,000.

Mayo is, as are most Irish counties, mainly agricultural with sheep and cattle farming and fishing being the major commercial activities.

The county's administrative centre is the town of Castlebar.

Geographical features of the county include Lough Conn, the wild scenic Atlantic coastline, Achill island and the village of Knock, where in 1897 two women claimed a vision of the Virgin Mary with two Saints. Knock has been a place of pilgrimage ever since.

What colour are you?

All designs © Knight International Bulgarian Property Specialist 2001 - 2007