Heritage > Counties > Ireland

Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Londonderry Covering an area of some 800 square miles, Londonderry or Derry, has a population of 190,000.

It's county town is also Londonderry or Derry with the towns of Coleraine and Portstewart being the other major population centres.

The name of Londonderry is disputed by the Catholic population as it is linked with the Protestant English colony given the land by King James II of England in the 17th Century and therefore it is also known as Derry.

Products from the county include flax, cattle and sheep products, textiles and light engineering. The agricultural pursuits are liable to be hindered by the county's very heavy rainfall.

Physical features of the county include the rivers Foyle, Bann and Roe with the Lough (or Lake) Neagh.

What colour are you?

All designs © Knight International Bulgarian Property Specialist 2001 - 2007